La Liga live streaming - How to watch Spanish football live online

Brendan O'Neill in Football 6 Oct 2017
Photo by Global Panorama

With two of the greatest clubs in the history of 'the beautiful game' in its ranks and a plethora of stars from around the globe showcasing their talent week in week out, La Liga has amassed a massive following and fans can watch all the action live online.

Watch & bet on live streaming football at bet365 > sports > football live streaming

ContentsAbout La LigaWhat's On Now & UpcomingHow To Watch & Bet On Live Football Streaming

About La LigaThe Primera División, more commonly known as La Liga, is the top football division in Spain and one of the leading domestic leagues in Europe alongside the Premier League, Bundesliga and Serie A. It is made up of 20 teams who compete for glory over the course of a 38-match season that runs from August to May, and boasts an array of talent from around the globe, often including the most expensive signings in the game.


A top three finish in La Liga guarantees qualification for the group phase of the UEFA Champions League, whilst fourth earns a place in the qualifying rounds of Europe's premier club competition. Fifth or sixth also provides an avenue to continental competition with entry into the Europa League. The bottom three in the standings after a long and arduous season face relegation to the Segunda Division.

Spain's top flight has traditionally been dominated by the powerhouses that are FC Barcelona and Real Madrid - two of the most popular and best supported clubs on the planet. These giants of the game share 56 league championship crowns between them and are invariably involved in the title race come the business end of the campaign.

Such has been their influence in the division that only nine teams have lifted the La Liga trophy in total since the league's inception in 1929, with Real Madrid winning the championship a record 32 times and Barcelona trailing them by nine on 23. The capital side were the dominant force in Spain's top tier from the 1950s through to the 1980s. However, since the 90s we have witnessed more of a duopoly that has only been broken on occasion by the likes of Atlético Madrid, Valencia, and Deportivo de La Coruña.

It was Catalonia's Barcelona, however, who won the very first Liga in 1929 before Madrid managed to top the league in 1932 and 1933. The Basque Country's Athletic Bilbao were victorious in 1930, 1931, 1934 and 1936, and also runners-up in 1932 and 1933. Real Sociedad, Sevilla and Real Betis are the other sides to have tasted success in the division.

The league has been graced by a host of stars over the years with the likes of Alfredo Di Stefano, Ferenc Puskás, Diego Maradona, Johann Cryuff, Michael Laudrup, Cristiano Ronaldo and the mercurial Lionel Messi all donning the shirts of either Real or Barca.

La Liga is famed for breaking transfer records in a bid to bring the best the world has to offer to Spain. In 2009 Real Madrid paid €94 million to Manchester United for the services of Portuguese hitman Cristiano Ronaldo and went on to break that world record in 2014 by paying Tottenham Hotspur €100 million for Welsh wizard Gareth Bale.

Barcelona haven't been shy in forking out for top talent either with Uruguay's Luis Suarez signed from Liverpool for €82 million in 2014 and Brazilian superstar Neymar costing the Catalans €57 million in 2013.

The division has also provided a solid foundation for Spain's national team to win the 2010 FIFA World Cup Finals and the 2008 and 2012 UEFA European Championships.

Back to Top

What's On Now & Upcoming

Back to Top

How To Watch & Bet On Live Football Streaming

Step 1: Go to bet365Step 2: Register or sign in 

Step 3: Watch & bet on football live online

Back to Top