No spam ever. Unsubscribe in one click. By submitting your email address, you indicate your consent to receiving email marketing messages from us.

List of La Liga winners

Brendan O'Neill 14 May 2016
  • Only 9 teams have won the La Liga title
  • FC Barcelona and Real Madrid share 56 championships between them

Such has been the dominance of FC Barcelona and Real Madrid in Spain's top flight that only nine teams have lifted the La Liga trophy since the division's inception in 1929, with the big two sharing 56 league championship crowns between them.

Watch & bet on live streaming football at bet365 > sports > live streaming football

It was Catalonia's Barcelona who won the very first Liga in 1929, while Real had to wait until 1932 to open their account and those successes were a sign a things to come although the big two didn't have it all their own way as the league established itself in Spain, with Athletic Bilbao dominating proceedings in the 1930s, winning the title in 1930, 1931, 1934 and 1936, and finishing as runners-up in 1932 and 1933.
Javier Alejandro Mascherano (R) of FC Barcelona competes for the ball with Petros Matheus (L) of Real Betis Balompie (Photo by Gonzalo Arroyo Moreno/Getty Images)

Patrick O'Connell, who captained both Manchester United and Ireland, managed Real Betis to their first and only La Liga title in 1935 before moving to Barcelona.

Under legendary former-goalkeeper Ricardo Zamora, Atlético Madrid won the Primera División for the first time in 1939/1940 before going on to win the Spanish Supercup and retaining their league crown the following season.

Valencia won its first Spanish championship title in 1942 before adding a second in 1944 and a third in 1947 after Sevilla's maiden success in 1946.

Madrid emerged as top dog in Spain from the 1950s through to the 1980s. However, since the 90s we have seen a duopoly that has only been broken on occasion by the likes of Atlético Madrid, Valencia, and Deportivo de La Coruña.

List of La Liga Winners:

1929 Barcelona
1929–30 Athletic Bilbao
1930–31 Athletic Bilbao
1931–32 Real Madrid
1932–33 Real Madrid
1933–34 Athletic Bilbao
1934–35 Real Betis
1935–36 Athletic Bilbao
1936–37 Spanish Civil War (League Cancelled)
1939–40 Atlético Aviación
1940–41 Atlético Aviación
1941–42 Valencia
1942–43 Athletic Bilbao
1943–44 Valencia
1944–45 Barcelona
1945–46 Sevilla
1946–47 Valencia
1947–48 Barcelona
1948–49 Barcelona
1949–50 Atlético Madrid
1950–51 Atlético Madrid
1951–52 Barcelona
1952–53 Barcelona
1953–54 Real Madrid
1954–55 Real Madrid
1955–56 Athletic Bilbao
1956–57 Real Madrid
1957–58 Real Madrid
1958–59 Barcelona
1959–60 Barcelona
1960–61 Real Madrid
1961–62 Real Madrid
1962–63 Real Madrid
1963–64 Real Madrid
1964–65 Real Madrid
1965–66 Atlético Madrid
1966–67 Real Madrid
1967–68 Real Madrid
1968–69 Real Madrid
1969–70 Atlético Madrid
1970–71 Valencia
1971–72 Real Madrid
1972–73 Atlético Madrid
1973–74 Barcelona
1974–75 Real Madrid
1975–76 Real Madrid
1976–77 Atlético Madrid
1977–78 Real Madrid
1978–79 Real Madrid
1979–80 Real Madrid
1980–81 Real Sociedad
1981–82 Real Sociedad
1982–83 Athletic Bilbao
1983–84 Athletic Bilbao
1984–85 Barcelona
1985–86 Real Madrid
1986–87 Real Madrid
1987–88 Real Madrid
1988–89 Real Madrid
1989–90 Real Madrid
1990–91 Barcelona
1991–92 Barcelona
1992–93 Barcelona
1993–94 Barcelona
1994–95 Real Madrid
1995–96 Atlético Madrid
1996–97 Real Madrid
1997–98 Barcelona
1998–99 Barcelona
1999–2000 Deportivo La Coruña
2000–01 Real Madrid
2001–02 Valencia
2002–03 Real Madrid
2003–04 Valencia
2004–05 Barcelona
2005–06 Barcelona
2006–07 Real Madrid
2007–08 Real Madrid
2008–09 Barcelona
2009–10 Barcelona
2010–11 Barcelona
2011–12 Real Madrid
2012–13 Barcelona
2013–14 Atlético Madrid
2014–15 Barcelona

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

List of La Liga winners

Such has been the dominance of FC Barcelona and Real Madrid in Spain's La Liga that only nine teams have lifted the league trophy since the division's inception in 1929.

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages