• Home
  • EuroVolley Live Streaming - Poland hosts Europe's elite

EuroVolley Live Streaming - Poland hosts Europe's elite

Brendan O'Neill in Volleyball 24 Aug 2017
Photo by Grzegorz Jereczek

Poland will host Serbia in the opening match of LOTTO EuroVolley Poland 2017 in front of a record-breaking crowd of 65,000 at PGE National Stadium in Warsaw on Thursday night.

Watch & bet on volleyball live at bet365 > sports > live streaming volleyball

Poland have won medals on eight occasions at the European Championship with their best result coming in 2009 when they emerged victorious in the gold medal match with France in the final in Turkey. 

Since that auspicious day they have finished 3rd, 9th and 5th and would dearly love to return to the top of the podium in front of their own fans. 

Poland co-hosted the 2013 EuroVolley tournament with Denmark, but are holding the competition outright on their own for the first time, which will only give added incentive to a squad who finished a disappointing 8th in this year's FIVB World League.

And home advantage will not be easily dismissed by the opposition who'll remember all too well what the Poles did in 2014 when they hosted and won the FIVB World Championship.

Their opening opponents Serbia qualified for this year’s competition thanks to a seventh placed finish at the European Championships two years ago in Bulgaria/Italy. 

The two-time winners are the fourth most successful nation in the tournament’s history - last claiming gold in Austria and Czech Republic in 2011 when they defeated Italy in the decider.

A third placed finish followed in 2013, whilst they ended their 2017 World League campaign in joint-5th with Russia. 

Pool A also contains Finland, who have qualified for the finals for the sixth consecutive edition, and Estonia.

The pool winners will advance directly to the last eight in Krakow while the two teams behind them progress to the play-offs to vie with teams from pool C, which includes Russia, Bulgaria, Slovenia and Spain, for a place in the quarter finals.

Pool B, meanwhile, consists of Germany, Czech Republic, Slovakia and Italy.

In Pool C we have France, Belgium, Netherlands and Turkey.

Back to Top